If you received an email on Wednesday saying that someone on your contacts list has shared a Google Doc with you, you may want to think twice before opening it.
According to Buzzfeed, a lot of people have been the targets of a phishing attempt (where hackers try to get you to click on their sketchy links) by an unknown organization.
Apparently, people are getting emails with links to Google Docs that appear to come from people they know. At least some of these emails are addressed to "email@example.com," with the person who received it in the BCC field. The emails subject lines say, "[Person in your contacts] just shared a Google Doc with you," exactly what Google's emails say when someone shares an actual Google Doc.
If you click on the link, you'll be taken to an actual Google page that will ask for permission across your Google accounts, according to Buzzfeed. If you grant it, it would give the hackers access to your personal data. As of right now, it seems that the attack would only be successful if you gave it permission to access your data. However, it appears that opening the email will forward it to everyone on your contacts list.
Apparently, this phishing attempt is affecting a lot of people. If you search "shared a doc" on Twitter, you'll see a ton of results, mostly people warning their followers not to open any suspicious docs.
If you did click on the fraudulent link, there is a way to fix it, which Buzzfeed outlines in their article.
Be careful out there, kids! If you did receive a Google Doc today, double check that the person it's from actually sent it. And maybe change your password for good measure.