Advertising

Well here's some disturbing news: According to NPR, the newest Uber update makes it possible for your driver to track your data even after they've dropped you off.

In the past, Uber could only collect your data when the Uber App was open. After the new update, Uber will still have access to your data up until five minutes after your ride ends, meaning your driver can track your movements long after you leave their car.

Me leaving my Uber.
Me leaving my Uber.
giphy
Advertising

If you decide you are not too keen on the idea of a complete stranger having easy access to your whereabouts, there is a way to sidestep this creepy new feature. Uber does explain how to turn off the feature in the app, but Life Hacker outlines it easily for three major operating systems.

  • On Android: Settings → Apps → Uber → scroll to “Permission” → toggle “Location”
  • On Android Lollipop (5.1) and earlier: Settings → Location → toggle Off
  • On iOS: Settings → Privacy → Location Services → Uber → choose “Never”

Yes, iPhone users. SMASH that "never" button.

Advertising
giphy